Skip to main content

Summer and Fall Enrollment for Freshman Students

Southern Welcome Department


Southern Welcome

Dear Future Lion,

The second step is to register for a Southern Welcome.   All students who have been admitted to the university will be mailed a Southern Welcome mailer beginning February 9th.  Southern Welcome is a required orientation and enrollment event specifically geared toward incoming freshmen students.  Faculty advisors and student support services such as:   Financial Aid, Bursars, and IT departments are housed in one location, Billinsly Student Center to assist you in preparing for classes.   The first step in being a lion is to apply for admission and to be accepted.  You will receive an acceptance letter from the Admissions office. 

 Southern Welcome will begin at 1:00 PM.  and an online reservation is required.  The reservation form will be made available on Friday, February 10th.  Spots are limited and we want to ensure we have enough faculty advisors on hand to accommodate your needs.  Select your date to attend and register!

Freshmen Southern Welcome Dates:
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 -  Closed
Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - Closed 
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 -  Closed
Wednesday, June 7, 2017
Thursday, June 8, 2017
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Wednesday, July 12, 2017          

The third step in being a lion is to join our Facebook page at  "MSSU First-Year Students"

The fourth step  is to attend your classes.  Fall classes begin Monday, August 21, 2017.    

Please contact the Southern Welcome office if you have any questions at 417-625-9731.  

Teresa Thompson
Director, First-Year Experience
Southern Welcome Coordinator
3950 East Newman Road
Joplin, MO 64801
Office: 417-625-9731
Fax: 417-659-4028

#gomoso

©